Crafty plates!

I don’t mind doing crafts. To be honest, sometimes I quite enjoy it! But I have one golden rule… The time the children spend on the task MUST be considerably longer than the time it took to get the craft ready! Otherwise it’s just more work for you right?

And to be honest, with boys, this isn’t always easy to do. Yes, generally girls have longer attention spans at his age and really quite like being crafty. So, with boys choose that craft wisely.

I’m a big fan of paper plate crafts, mainly because you can pick them up cheaply anywhere – and they have proved to be rather versatile. Who knew?

So last week I found one that was tailored for my 3 year old and one that was tailored for my 5 year old.

On Monday we did lions.

I stuck some orange paint, we didn’t use brushes, just our hands, because we’re lazy sensory like that. And we covered our paper plates with the orange paint. And some furniture too.

Then with cut out strips of orange and yellow paper we tuck them round the edge to make a mane. A black triangle for the nose and two googly eyes from my never-ending supply I bought from Boyes years ago.

Hey presto, a lion …. Raaaaaa!

DSCF4278

Even though this was aimed at Jonty (3yo) Oscar loved it and led the activity adding his own ideas (a mouth).

 

 

Then, on Thursday we made Clocks.

I got extra house wife points for this one as Oscar is learning to tell the time at school this week (complete fluke, had no idea)

A bit of messy hand painting to colour in the faces, some foam squares and foam arrows and a brass fastener – and we got ourselves some clocks!

DSCF4270

 

I actually thought this would be too complicated for 3yo, but as usual, he surprised me. We did the numbers together, where Oscar got a lot out of doing himself and helped with his recognition and he enjoyed sticking them on in the right order and choosing the colours and turning the arrows. IT was great for both.

DSCF4262

DSCF4269

 

Both activities kept the attention for around 30 minutes. Assembly time was less than 5! Plus they got some mileage out of them afterwards, pretending to be lions and pretending they could tell the time. That, my crafty friends is what I call a winner!

DSCF4271

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

